Annual Council

Date:	Tuesday 4 May 2021
Title:	Appointments to Advisory Committees and Outside Organisations
Contact Officer:	Town Clerk/CEO – Sharon Groth

Background

The Town Council appoints representatives to the following Advisory Committees/Outside Bodies and it is usually recommended that those appointed as per below should serve until the Annual Council Meeting following the next ordinary election of Councillors in 2023, although Members may wish to step down at this juncture if they so wish.

Witney Traffic Advisory Committee	-	4 Joy Aitman, Liz Duncan, Duncan Enright , Jim King
Oxfordshire Association of Local Councils [Larger Councils]	-	1 – Leader of the Council
West Witney Sports & Social Club	-	2 – Joy Aitman, Vicky Gwatkin
Witney Town Band	-	1 – Ruth Smith
Witney & District Twinning Association	-	3 (Mayor (Ex officio)) Joy Aitman, Owen Collins, Liz Duncan
West Oxfordshire Museum Centre	-	1 – Liz Duncan
St Mary's Church Preservation Trust	-	Mayor
CCTV Management Group	-	1 – Owen Collins
Volunteer Link Up	-	1– Liz Duncan
RAF Brize Norton – Local Consultation Working Group	-	1 – Rosa Bolger
Witney Allotment Association	-	1 – Ruth Smith
Witney Youth Council Mentors	-	2 – Thomas Ashby, Rosa Bolger & Vicky Gwatkin
Friends of the Cemeteries	-	2 – Owen Collins, Duncan Enright & Mel Jones Joy Aitman & Ruth Smith
	1	

Home Start Champions

Lower Windrush Valley Project				-	Rosa Bolger	
West Oxfordshire Community Transport				-	Joy Aitman	
Witney Champio		Trade	Action	Group	-	Duncan Enright

NOMINEES

Listed below are the Town Council nominees serving on other outside bodies. The expiry dates of terms of office on these bodies are shown. The terms of office are set by the various bodies and Council appointments are made on the expiry of the term or vacancies caused by resignation, disqualification, etc.:

(* Denotes non-Member of Witney Town Council) <u>Term of office expires</u>

Witney Town Hall Charity – 4 year term of office

H B Eaglestone					<mark>June 2021</mark>	
Ms Mandy Collicut*	(Co-opted	Trustee)			July 2024	
Owen Collins					May 2023	
Mr C Knowles*					May 2023	
Mrs R Knowles*	••	••			June 2022	
Mr D Semaine* (Co-	opted Trus	stee)			October 2023	
Mrs L J Semaine*					June 2022	
(The Town Council does not nominate co-opted Trustees)						

Witney Town Charity – 4 year term of office

L Ashbourne	 	 	June 2024
M Jones	 	 	June 2024
J S King	 	 	October 2022
C Brown*	 	 	<mark>June 2021</mark>
A McMahon	 	 	November 2022
C Woodward*	 	 	Feb 2022

<u>Witney Educational Foundation</u> – 4 year term of office

Henry Box Collectio	ncan		May 2023	
C K Woodward*			 	May 2022
R W Barton*			 	May 2024
Mrs C Reynolds*			 	<mark>May 2021</mark>
Mrs J Aitman			 	July 2023

••

<u>Cogges Welfare Trust Charity</u> – 4 year term of office

..

Mrs J Aitman

July 2024

D Enright	 		July 2024
H W Chirgwin*	 	 	July 2024

Madley Park Hall Trust - 4 year term of office

Mrs Joy Aitman May 2023

Arising from the above it will be seen that nominations are required as listed below:

a) <u>Witney Town Hall Charity</u>

The term of office of Cllr H Eaglestone is due to expire in June 2021.

b) <u>Witney Town Charity</u>

The term of office of Mr C Brown is due to end in June 2021 – see correspondence attached. The Clerk to the Trustees has indicated that Mr Brown would be happy to continue should the Council wish him to do so.

c) <u>Witney Educational Foundation</u>

The term of office of Mrs C Reynolds is due to expire in May 2021 – see correspondence attached. The Registrar has indicated that Mrs Reynolds would be happy to continue should the Council wish her to do so.

RECOMMENDED

Members are invited to note the report and consider the appointments to the outside bodies/organisations and make any changes as desired, but particularly with regard to the three organisations where trusteeships have or are due to expire this municipal year.